Why I became a Software Developer

Table of contents

For a lot of software developers, software development is a very hard career path but it is equally self rewarding. I am currently a Frontend Software Developer and in this article I will explain to you why I became a software deveoper.

The first time I thought of becoming a software developer was in the year 2020 just before covid19 got into Nigeria. As at that time there were only two things driving my thoughts of becoming a software developer and they are:

  • Money
  • Low barrier to entry

Money

I was in my second year in college, I needed money to buy textbooks and other school materials, so I made a lot of research on jobs that do not require a university degree. I chose Software development amongst all other jobs I came across in my research because of two things. It pays a lot of money and it has a low barrier to entry.

Low barrier to entry

The fact that I can get a high paying software development job without a college degree was what made me put in the effort to learn software development.

I would not have became a software developer if these two factors were not involved.

This article is my first shot at tecnical writing. It is my submission for hashnode's #4articles4weeks writeathon #week1. I hope to get better.